SAP Business One supports relief organisation in Haiti.
21 Jan

SAP Business One supports aid organization in Haiti

Four years after the earthquake in Haiti, Yunus Social Business (YSB) is helping to rebuild the country. SAP is one of the founders of this support programme. Convinced by the concept of sustainable development, SAP pledged support in the form of financial resources, expert staff and technical know-how to create a infrastructure for the rapidly growing number of social enterprises in the country.

0

The YSB-funded Start-ups are already generating enough revenue with three business models to cover the long-term operating expenses of forty schools.

Poultry farming: Chicken meat is an important part of the menu in Haiti. Since poultry farming has relatively little impact on the environment and does not require large areas of land, it is an ideal business model for the small island nation. YSB invests in farms that are run as independent social enterprises. Some of the eggs are sold while the rest are hatched. The raised chickens are sold as meat suppliers. The farm's income generates enough profit to pay employees. The remaining surplus goes to local schools to fund teachers' salaries, books and equipment.

Bakeries: YSB has invested in a number of local bakeries that bake fresh bread fortified with essential minerals and vitamins. The income from each bakery benefits local schools and local job creation. In addition to a regular income, the bakery workers also receive valuable practical training as they learn their new craft.

Water treatment agents: In Haiti, drinking water is often contaminated due to frequent flooding. Chlorine bleach is an important - but expensive - means of disinfecting water and preventing deadly diseases such as cholera. YSB offers Haiti's low-income population an alternative to buying bleach and soap in expensive supermarkets. By eliminating expensive packaging, YSB is able to distribute these household products at sales kiosks in small, affordable quantities at prices that are a quarter of the average shop price. Like YSB's other business models, this model generates funds for local schools and provides much-needed income to local communities.

The start-up social enterprises supported by SAP and YSB are having a hugely positive impact across Haiti. They have created 300 jobs. 1,000 children can now attend school and receive a reliable and high-quality education. Thanks to the steady Funding the teachers no longer have to fear dismissal. At the same time, the Entrepreneurship Institute, to which the first ever YSB investment went, has trained 1,320 young people to become entrepreneurs since it opened. Equipped with the right tools, students at the institute start ten new businesses a year.

Partnership for change

During the three-year start-up phase in Haiti, SAP was actively involved in developing the basic strategic direction of the initiative and contributed the necessary operational and financial support. In return, YSB has contributed social business advice, geographical and cultural local knowledge, and donor recruitment.

SAP also donated the following to the organisation SAP Business One. With this solution, YSB can centrally manage all the finances, customer relations, farming and retail operations of all seven social enterprises through one system. With the SAP Business One Mobile app for example, the owners of the farms and bakeries in the countryside have secure mobile access to the SAP Business One solution. Instead of making the long trip to the central office in Port-au-Prince, for example, the social entrepreneurs can send their business reports to the head office without any detours.

© 2014 | Versino Projects GmbH

0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

21 Jan

SAP Business One unterstützt Hilfsorganisation in Haiti

Vier Jahre nach dem Erdbeben auf Haiti hilft Yunus Social Business (YSB) das Land wieder aufzubauen. SAP gehört zu den Gründern dieses Förderprogramms. Überzeugt vom Konzept der nachhaltigen Entwicklung sagte die SAP Unterstützung in Form von finanziellen Mitteln, fachkundigen Mitarbeitern und technischem Know-how zu, um eine Infrastruktur für die schnell wachsende Zahl der sozialen Unternehmen im Land aufzubauen.

Die von YSB finanzierten Startups erwirtschaften mit drei Geschäftsmodellen schon jetzt genügend Einnahmen, um die langfristigen Betriebsausgaben von vierzig Schulen zu decken.

Geflügelzucht: Hühnerfleisch ist in Haiti ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Speiseplans. Da die Geflügelzucht die Umwelt relativ wenig belastet und keine großen Flächen benötigt, ist sie ein ideales Geschäftsmodell für die kleine Inselnation. YSB investiert in Farmen, die als unabhängige soziale Unternehmen geführt werden. Ein Teil der Eier wird verkauft, während der Rest ausgebrütet wird. Die aufgezogenen Hühner werden als Fleischlieferanten verkauft. Die Einnahmen der Farm werfen genug Gewinn ab, um Mitarbeiter zu bezahlen. Der restliche Überschuss geht an örtliche Schulen, um dort Lehrergehälter, Bücher und Ausstattung zu finanzieren.

Bäckereien: YSB hat in eine Reihe von lokalen Bäckereien investiert, die frisches Brot backen, das mit wichtigen Mineralstoffen und Vitaminen angereichert ist. Die Einnahmen jeder Bäckerei kommen den örtlichen Schulen und der Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen am Ort zugute. Neben einem regelmäßigen Einkommen erhalten die Bäckereimitarbeiter mit dem Erlernen ihres neuen Handwerks auch eine wertvolle praktische Ausbildung.

Wasseraufbereitungsmittel: In Haiti ist das Trinkwasser aufgrund häufiger Überschwemmungen oft verunreinigt. Chlorbleiche ist ein wichtiges – aber teures – Mittel, um Wasser zu desinfizieren und tödlichen Erkrankungen wie Cholera vorzubeugen. YSB bietet der einkommensschwachen Bevölkerung Haitis eine Alternative zum Kauf von Bleiche und Seife in teuren Supermärkten. Durch den Verzicht auf teure Verpackung kann YSB diese Haushaltsmittel an Verkaufskiosks in kleinen, bezahlbaren Mengen zu Preisen abgeben, die ein Viertel des durchschnittlichen Ladenpreises betragen. Wie die anderen Geschäftsmodelle von YSB erwirtschaftet auch dieses Modell finanzielle Mittel für örtliche Schulen und verschafft den lokalen Gemeinschaften dringend benötigtes Einkommen.

Die von der SAP und YSB unterstützten Startup-Sozialunternehmen entfalten in ganz Haiti eine enorm positive Wirkung. Sie haben 300 Arbeitsplätze geschaffen. 1.000 Kinder können jetzt die Schule besuchen und erhalten eine zuverlässige und hochwertige Bildung. Dank der stetigen Finanzierung müssen die Lehrer keine Entlassung mehr befürchten. Gleichzeitig hat das Unternehmerinstitut, an das die erste YSB-Investition überhaupt ging, seit seiner Eröffnung 1.320 junge Menschen zu Unternehmern geschult. Mit dem richtigen Rüstzeug versehen, gründen Schüler des Instituts zehn neue Unternehmen pro Jahr.

Partnerschaft für Wandel

Während der dreijährigen Anlaufphase in Haiti war die SAP aktiv an der Entwicklung der grundlegenden strategischen Ausrichtung der Initiative beteiligt und hat die notwendige operative und finanzielle Unterstützung beigesteuert. YSB hat im Gegenzug Social-Business-Beratung, geografische und kulturelle Ortskenntnis sowie Spenderwerbung beigetragen.

Außerdem spendete die SAP der Organisation SAP Business One. Mit dieser Lösung kann YSB alle Finanzen, Kundenbeziehungen sowie den Landwirtschafts- und Einzelhandelsbetrieb aller sieben sozialen Unternehmen zentral über ein System verwalten .Mit der SAP Business One Mobile App beispielsweise verfügen die Besitzer der Farmen und Bäckereien auf dem Land über einen sicheren mobilen Zugang zur Lösung SAP Business One. Anstatt sich etwa auf den langen Weg zum zentralen Büro in Port-au-Prince zu machen, können die Sozialunternehmer ihre Geschäftsberichte ohne Umwege an die Zentrale senden.

© 2014 | Versino Projects GmbH

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert mit *
Folgende HTML Tags sind nutzbar: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>